Professor Chase Beisel has received a Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundationbeisel_thumb[6] (NSF). The award, known as the NSF CAREER Award, is one of the highest honors given by NSF to young faculty in science and engineering. It provides funding over five years to support a faculty member's research activities.

Dr. Beisel's award, "Harnessing endogenous defense systems as genetic tools for microbial communities" seeks to develop fundamental tools for manipulating the myriad of uncharacterized microbes in our world. The award will allow Dr. Beisel to begin establishing a systematic pipeline to generate these tools, thereby simplifying how we study and engineer the diversity of microbes found in the environment and occupying our bodies.

As part of the educational component of the award, Dr. Beisel is developing a hands-on laboratory course on genome engineering with CRISPR-Cas9 through the Biotechnology Program and bringing interactive modules on science and engineering to community centers in Southeast Raleigh in partnership with the non-profit Score One Up.